Game “Night” – Lucky Pizza

Lucky Pizza

 

”]Lucky Pizza

 

Game night is an event we’ve been trying to have at our house on a fairly regular basis. More often than not though, it ends up occuring only by random happenstance. This Spinach pizza  is the “brainchild” of  my love for fresh spinach and my overbearing need to be hospitable to “all who could possibly” enter my home [Thanks Mom for teaching me =)]. So, we had invited a bunch of people on this particular game “night” [a game night which happened during a BBQ and during the dayanyways!], and I told my roomies that we should have atleast one vegetarian dish, just in case we had anyone coming who was non a meat- eater. We like to call ourselves “Flexetarians”  due to the fact that we eat a much higher amount of veggies compared to our meat intake. I also like to pride myself on generally being able to cook for anyone who has food preferences, and/ or allergies. [But] Their reply (understandably) was along the lines of this: “We didn’t invite anyone who’s a vegetarian. We would know if we had a vegetarian friend right?” …..

…….Needless to say when our semi- new friend A.B., (Who unbeknownst to us, is a vegetarian) showed up, we were all relieved that we had something for her to eat. This was some lucky pizza! She loved the pizza and so did everyone else (I ended up making 2 or 3 of these pizzas in one night day).  Eventually, the day turned to night, and we did indeed play games, so it turned into a true Game night fueled by a bounty of food and a good serving each of my Spinach pizza !

Ok, it was very simple. I used:

– Pillsbury Pizza Crust*

– Plain Tomato sauce

 – Diced Tomatos

 – Fresh Baby Spinach Leaves

 – Shredded Mozerella Cheese

 – Grated Parmigiano reggiano

  – Oregano

 Honestly, the measurements are up to you. I believe in a good ratio of cheese to sauce, and as you can see from the first photo- I really like my spinach. On other variations I added onions as well. This works well as an appetizer too. So, make this work for you and enjoy!

*So, oneday, when my food processor is fixed I will make my own pizza dough. I hear that it’s fairly easy and delicious! For now I have been using Pillsbury Pizza Crust, which is actually pretty good.

Comments
2 Responses to “Game “Night” – Lucky Pizza”
  1. I love that the Friendly Foodie Girl has come to wordpress!! That makes my life so exciting.

    I also love how this pizza looks, and how lucky it was– and the word “Flexetarians”!

    Yum!

    • Aww, thank you! The pizza is amazing both in looks and in taste…mmmm
      We coined the phrase a while back, but then we found it somewhere on the internet and were saddened that we weren’t original =( …but yes, “Flexetarians” is a good word =)

Leave a Reply

