Mushroom Rice

When I first made this dish for my roomies, they were positive that I had put butter in it. They were also certain that I had put a can of Cream of Mushroom Soup in it. I assured them that I had done neither of those things, instead, I sweated the mushrooms, and roasted a head of garlic. This recipe is the perfect example of how spending just a little extra time in the kitchen, keeps you from having to buy canned stuff [and people will be impressed when they find out it was all made from scratch!].  The recipe is just too easy not to do it “naturally”, and it tastes SO much more fresh. =) Also, because it has no dairy in it, this dish is perfect for anyone who is vegan, or lactose intolerant!

 I cook my rice in a rice cooker, so it usually comes out fairly sticky; I like it like that. If you don’t have a rice cooker, you can cook your rice in a pot on the stove (maybe add a little extra water, just a little bit!). Any type of rice will do for this recipe including brown rice! I served this with a heap of roasted vegetables. [Summer squash, lavender eggplant, broccolini, and carrots!!!]

 

Roasting the Galic with the Broccolini

 

Mushroom Rice

Ingredients:

2 Cups of Cooked Rice

1 Head of Roasted Garlic

1 [8 oz] Pack of  Button Mushrooms

Olive Oil

Salt

Freshly Ground Black Pepper

Method:

Start cooking your rice.  While rice is cooking, wash and dice mushrooms. Place pan or small pot with one or two tablespoons of Olive Oil in it over medium heat, put mushroom and salt in pot and stir gently, allowing the mushrooms to rest enough to release their juices. Cook mushrooms until soft. Don’t turn up the heat too high because the liquid will evaporate and you will need the extra liquid to help flavor the rice. When the rice is finished cooking mix the cooked mushrooms and their liquid with the rice. Remove skin from the roasted garlic cloves and add them to the rice and mushroom mixture. Add pepper and stir well to mix the roasted garlic in.  Adjust the seasonings to your liking.

I can’t wait to try this recipe with other types of mushrooms!

Enjoy!

– TFFG

Comments
3 Responses to “Mushroom Rice”
  1. TeaMo says:

    Hey!!! I’ve tried some Mushroom rice not to long ago. It was simple and tasty. I think I will make some more next week.

  2. rachelohmg says:

    Oh my gosh! Sounds and looks delicious! I want to try this for dinner this week!

Leave a Reply

