My First Heirloom Tomato

Incase you haven’t noticed yet, I really appreciate my Farmer’s Market. I mention it often because every time I go, I get something that is exceptional. This past Wednesday at the green market, as I was shopping for our weekly veggies, I noticed that one of the vendors was selling organic heirloom tomatoes. I went over to look, and I realized that in order to know how to choose a ripe one (I usually go by color and feel) I would have to admit to the vendor that, I [a proud foodie], had never eaten an heirloom tomato. The kind woman smiled and told me that once I try one, I’ll never go back to regular tomatoes. She may very well be right. She helped me choose one to eat the same day. It was the beautiful, rosy, pinkish, red that you sometimes see in the sky when the sun is setting. [It was so beautiful, but my picture does not do the color of the tomato justice].

After eating a few slivers of the tomato to experience the unadulterated taste and texture. I decided to make my own version of a tomato salad with Balsamic Vinegar, Salt, Pepper, a drizzle of Olive Oil, and a dollop of Mayo.

Eating it was [Pure Bliss].

Enough said.

Next time, (which will be soon) I will add fresh Basil.

 

So, the moral of the story is: If you haven’t tried an heirloom tomato, go buy one and eat it.

Believe the hype.

TFFG

 

Oh, and here are some more great things I bought at the Market:

Chinese Eggplant

HUGE Blackberries
See, I told you they were huge!

 

Comments
3 Responses to “My First Heirloom Tomato”
  1. I’ve never had an heirloom tomato either! Honestly, when I’ve seen them (in the farmer’s market that occasionally came to school…) the look of them put me off a bit. While I enjoyed the colors… between the colors and shapes– they looked like something was WRONG with them.

    But I should know better than to judge a tomato by its cover (or color?). I may need a talk with my allergist first to make sure that the heirlooms will be just as safe for me as regular tomatoes, but if I can, I WILL try one!

    (and man, those blackberries ARE huge!!)

    • I completely understand your hesitation about buying the tomatoes, I wasn’t sure what the colors where about either. They were intruiging but I just didn’t know…and they were at my supermarket so I waited until they were at the Farmer’s Market so that I could get a real homegrown one….now I know they are delicious.

      I couldn’t believe how big the blackberries were (take note of the past tense) either, and they tasted so good. They had a really wonderful flavor…sweet with a tart little punch.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Remember the gigantic luscious blackberries I posted a picture of in yesterday’s post? […]



Leave a Reply

