Readers Voice- Grilled Cheese vs. Panini

Okay, so I love a good grilled cheese. Grilled cheese and I go way back, I remember learning how to make them on the stove and then in a grilled cheese maker. Personally, I prefer the stove preparation method because I think the bread toasts up nicely that way. On a rainy day, or on a day that has been difficult and I feel “incredibly old”,  sometimes (but not too often with all of that artery clogging yuminess) I will fix myself a grilled cheese to remind myself that I’m never too old to enjoy simple things. I add a cup of vegetable soup or a salad on the side, depending on the weather. Then, I sit on the couch and munch away while reading a book, reminiscing, or planning an adventure.

I was reminded of all of this by my friend Molecular Sheep‘s  blog post. Which then sparked the question in our conversation: When does a Grilled Cheese stop being a Grilled Cheese and become a Panini? We decided to take the question to our readers, YOU. Yes you, we want to hear your opinion. Now this is is not a matter of life or death, and yes Wiki articles can shed some light on the situation but we wanted to conduct our own research on the matter. So write a comment to tell me A) What your opinion is on the Grilled Cheese vs. Panini debate and B) What your favorite grilled cheese combinations are.

In all seriousness: Get out there and enjoy the simple things – Nature walks, laughter, a smile, the stars, a good meal, reading a book. No matter how sad your heart is, or what the color of your sky is , if  you can find something, however small, to be thankful for it will make a difference.

There is always a song to be sung, so sing it anyways, no matter how off-key you may sing it.

Love,

TFFG

Comments
3 Responses to “Readers Voice- Grilled Cheese vs. Panini”
  1. Debbie says:

    I think that a panini is toasted before pressed… or at least the bread is thicker and more crusty than a grilled cheese bread. I fell in love with a gouda-munster-cheddar mash up on wheatberry bread. I also believe in using butter instead of oil in the pan. But I’m open to suggestions.

    • Thank you Debbie! It’s true, the bread on a Panini is usually thicker, I wonder if it is toasted before pressed, or if it’s thicker because it’s usually made out of a roll or part of a loaf of bread.
      Hmm…things to ponder upon. A mix of Gouda, Muenster, and Cheddar sounds heavenly. Butter is better! Thanks for your comment, and thank you for being the first person to be heard in the debate!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of my closest friends’ recent discussion.  First, on Molecular Sheep’s blog, and then, The Friendly Foodie Girl’s follow-up post.   [By the way, I highly recommend checking these two out– especially regarding the pressing […]



Leave a Reply

